2011 Windsor RCNA Convention

RCNA Conventions | 2011 Windsor Convention | Program of Events | Symposium | Awards

Thursday, July 14 to Sunday, July 17, 2011 
Symposium: Thursday; Bourse: Friday to Sunday

Windsor – The Best Place to Be!


Windsor Coin Club – Celebrating our 60th Anniversary


General Chairman: Brett Irick, President, Windsor Coin Club


Presidential Awards

Ian Bennett Ottawa ON
William K. Cross Toronto ON
Paul Winkler St. Catharines ON
Judy Blackman Waterloo ON
Marvin Kay Toronto ON
Mike Marshall Trenton ON
Charles Moore Walnut Creek CA
Henry Nienhuis Woodbridge ON
Serge Pelletier Kanata ON
Jules Rach Edmonton ON
France Waychison Timmins ON
Barrie Renwick Calgary AB
Brent Mackie Kitchener ON

RCNA Awards for 2011


Paul Fiocca AwardDr. Marvin KayFellow AwardsMargaret ClarkeTom ClarkeSheldon Carroll 'Best of Show' AwardRobert J. Graham "Counterfeits and Countermeasures"Jean Bullen AwardHenry Nienhuis"Canadian Five Cents - 1951"James E. Charlton Junior AwardDaniel Anderson"Die Varieties of the 1899 Newfoundland Twenty Cent Piece"

RCNA Awards for 2010

Guy Potter Literary Award Stephen Woodland
"Building Your Library / Assembler votre bibliotheque"
The CN Journal October, 2010 pages 482 to 489
Jerry Remick III Literary Award Ron Cheek
"This 19th Century medal reveals a transatlantic Story"
Moneta Ottawa Coin Club July/August 2010
Louise Graham 'Club of the Year' Award Calgary Numismatic Society
Best Regional / National Newsletter Award Société Numismatique de Quebec, Inc.
Bulletin de Liaison'
Best Regional / National Newsletter Editor Award Renald Lefebvre
Best Local Club Newsletter Award Edmonton Numismatic Society
The Planchet, a publication of the Edmonton Numismatic Society
Best Local Club Newsletter Editor Award Roger  Grove

Non-RCNA Awards

J. Douglas Ferguson Award Tim Henderson

RCNA Exhibit Awards

Category A Canadian Coins & Tokens
1st Henry Nienhuis Woodbridge, ON "Canadian Five Cents - 1951"
2nd Chris Boyer Kitchener, ON "Mule Train"
3rd Connie Clement Windsor, ON "Four Varieties of the 1965 Canada One Cent"
Category B Canadian Paper Money, Scrip and Related Paper Items
1st Robert J. Graham Kimberly, ON "Counterfeits and Countermeasures"
2nd Ron Greene Victoria, BC "A Tribute to William H. McDonald"
3rd Jared Stapleton Toronto, ON "Radar Notes"
Category C Canadian Medals, Orders, Decorations and Other Numismatic Items Which Are Not A Medium of Exchange
1st Ron Cheek Ottawa, ON "Are Canadian Royalty Medals a Thing of the Past"
2nd Colin Cutler Windsor, ON "Selected Canadian Charter Bank Memorabilia"
3rd -----
Category D Non-Canadian Coins and Tokens
1st James Zylstra Dearborn, MI "The Journey of the Apostle Paul in Coins"
2nd Ted Leitch London, ON "Spanish American Mints"
3rd Bill Brandimore Wausau, WI "Complete Set of Proof Buffalo Nickels"
Category E Non-Canadian Paper Scrip and Related Paper Items
1st George Cuhaj Iola, WI "The Seige of Mafeking Banknote Types of 1900"
2nd Colin Cutler Windsor, ON "China October 1, 1914 Issue"
3rd Ermin Chow Edmonton, AB "British Hong Kong 1 Cent Banknotes"
Category F Non-Canadian Medals, Orders, Decorations and Other Numismatic Items Which Are Not A Medium of Exchange
1st James Zylstra Dearborn, MI "Liberty Dollars"
2nd Colin Cutler Windsor, ON "George Meany AF of L Medal"
3rd ------
Category G Junior Exhibits by Persons Age 16 - 18
1st Not awarded
2nd Ermin Chow Edmonton, AB "1967 Canadian Centennial Circulation Issues"
3rd Not awarded
Category H Juvenile Exhibits by Persons Under 16 Years of Age
1st Daniel Anderson Sundre, AB "Die Varieties of the 1899 Newfoundland Twenty Cent Piece"
2nd John Siteman Dartmouth, NS "Olympic Coins"
3rd Sabrina Boyer Kitchener, ON "The Mozart of Money Art"

Mailing Address:
RCNA 2011
c/o Windsor Coin Club
5060 Tecumseh Road East, Box 505

Committee members:

Bourse, Properties and Security Wayne Irwin Director, Windsor Coin Club
Exhibits Colin Cutler Director, Windsor Coin Club
Souvenir Program Tom Clarke 1st Vice President, Windsor Coin Club
Treasurer Margaret Clarke Treasurer, Windsor Coin Club
Special Events and Tours Pauline Irwin  
Advanced Planning Committee Fred Boyle Secretary, Windsor Coin Club
  Don Lennox and Randy Westley Directors, Windsor Coin Club
  Margaret and Tom Clarke, and Wayne Irwin  
Registration Jeff Webb and Cathy Schmidt Members, Windsor Coin Club
Secretary Fred Boyle Secretary, Windsor Coin Club
Webmaster Jody Filiault Director, Windsor Coin Club
Hospitality Jody Filiault Director Windsor Coin Club
Publicity Ed McNorton Member, Windsor Coin Club


Saint Clair Centre for the Arts – Canadian Club Room
201 Riverside Drive West
Windsor ON Canada N9A 5K4
Located next door to the convention hotels.


Hilton Windsor
277 Riverside Drive West
Windsor ON Canada N9A 5K4

Windsor Riverside Inn 
333 Riverside Drive West
Windsor ON Canada N9A 5K4


The Canadian Numismatic Company
5220 1st Ave.,
Quebec City, Quebec,
G1H 2V2, Canada

Toll-Free: 1-877-276-8627
Fax: 418-628-2790
Web site: http://tcnccoins.com/

Top of Page